Houses

Buying a House

I’ve been house hunting for quite a while now but haven’t had much luck.  I’m 33 years old and have never lived on my own in a property let alone in a property I own so I’m definitely ready to move on to a space that is all my own. Now it looks like things might be moving on a bit and I thought it might be interesting to blog about my experiences from the point of view of someone who has no idea whatsoever what he is doing.

Having had several houses disappear out from underneath me recently I knew I had to act a little more decisively than I am usually able to.  So, when my girlfriend and I both liked a house we saw on Saturday (the only one we both liked and one of only 2 out of the 6 that was worth looking at again) I made a second appointment to see it on Tuesday with my dad along to advise on any DIY work that it needs.

With all 3 of us of more or less the same opinion, I decided to make an offer.  We decided on an offer significantly lower than the asking price as it needs double glazing and a few other modernisations.  So I spent the first half of Wednesday trying to work up the courage to call the estate agent and make the offer.  For some reason the prospect terrified me even though there is no commitment and the worst they could do was say it was too low.  Eventually around lunch time I chickened out and emailed the offer through instead.  I should probably have just done that the night before to be honest.  The agents were quick to get back to me and to update me that they had left messages for the vendors but that a response may take a few days as they were out of the country.

It is now a few days later and the vendors have indicated that they would accept a slightly higher offer, still lower than asking.  I think this is pretty reasonable but I have asked dad to give me an unbiased opinion before I go ahead.

In the meantime I have been researching local solicitors, surveyors and double glazing companies and basically getting overwhelmed with the choices available.  It seems to be really difficult to find anything to choose between all of the firms available.  I think I have chosen a solicitor based on recommendations from friends who moved a year or so ago and a friend in the industry.  However, again I had the terrible anxiety about phoning them.  I tried to chicken out yesterday and email them too but their contact form on their website wouldn’t let me put in enough words to get my point across.  I guess I’ll just have to stop messing around and call them.

Surveyors are another matter, I might have to ask for recommendations again as I have no idea how to choose between the hundreds of companies in the area.  I might choose one just because the guy that runs it has the same name as a bloke I used to work with many years ago.  And from what I’ve read about double glazing companies, they seem to exist purely to rip you off!

Anyway, this post is far too long now.  Hopefully updates in future will be shorter and more intersting.  Assuming things do work out I’ll also post photos of the house 🙂

Leave a Reply

