I came to the world of Marvel relatively late, getting into X-Men comics only after the first set of movies was released. I really got into the 1970s and 1980s X-Men comics and have been trying to consume everything I can find chronologically since then. I’ve had a bit of a break in reading them in recent years and become more interested in the film adaptations.

My interest being mainly in X-Men, what little I know about other Marvel characters such as Captain America, Iron Man and the rest of the Avengers, is limited. However being a geek and generally interested in comics I was excited when they started making movies out of these stories and avidly watched the first couple of Iron Man and Thor films.

For some reason though I started to miss the latest releases and, with the upcoming release of Captain America: Civil War, I suddenly realised that there were more movies in this arc that I hadn’t seen than I had. I decided to make a plan to rectify this situation.

A little research on the internet led to several resources suggesting a viewing order to see events in chronological(ish) order. Many of the lists include the various Marvel TV shows but due to limited time I’m missing those out and may revisit them later. I will be watching (and rambling about) the following films in this order:

Note about X-Men: it is ironic that they aren’t part of the Marvel Cinematic Universe due to rights issues but since the overlap between stories was often minimal it doesn’t feel like a huge issue.

13 thoughts on “Movie Ramblings: The Great Marvel Movie Catchup

Leave a Reply

